what are you guys using for situations like this? id like something i can use late night while my family is sleeping. my amp doesnt offer a headphone output. i was thinking maybe some used older digitech rp or maybe a line 6 pod 2.0. just a few options that crossed my mind. im interested to see what some of you guys use. thanks in advance.
Ibanez Rg 321mh
Squier Classic Vibe 1970s Precision Bass
Guitar Rig 5
Presonus Audiobox
Behringer Truth B2030A
A portable digital modeler or a MFX pedal are probably the standard options.

Line 6 Pods are very popular- probably the #1 product line for such things. Boss' Micro BR line is among the more powerful. I personally have a few Korg Pandoras and a Tascam GT-R1.

I also have a MFX pedal with a headphone out.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
how do you like them?
Ibanez Rg 321mh
Guitar Rig 5
Presonus Audiobox
Behringer Truth B2030A
What I do is I use either of these:

or

or even one of those cheapo M-Audio cables...

They're both recording interfaces that plug into the computer. With those, you're able to run your guitar direct into your computer's DAW and use amp simulators for different tones. There are a bunch of free options. Personally I really like the LePou stuff and even some of the TSE and Nick Crow plugins. You use them with a cab loader and you'll be set. LePou does a cab loader and it works well. I personally use a mix of Rosen, Kalthallen (free) and Redwirez (free) to get some really awesome tones for late night jamming and even recording.

That being said, a multifx like the POD etc... would work as well.
Quote by zgr0826
My culture is worthless and absolutely inferior to the almighty Leaf.

Quote by JustRooster
I incurred the wrath of the Association of White Knights. Specifically the Parent's Basement branch of service.
Quote by romeozdistress