Hi -

I'm a relative newbie overall, and a complete newbie to amplifiers and pedals, trying to get as close as I can to the sound for Jack White / The White Stripes "Fell in love with a girl." I've currently got a Fender Mustang 1 and a Big Muff pedal. Can anyone help me out with settings, tips, etc?

Here's one question I have -

The Mustang has FUSE software that allows you to download presets. And some people have posted Jack White presets. But, that's just for the amp alone, and since I have the Big Muff (which I know he uses) I'm not sure if by using the Fuse presets I'll be doubling down on the sound, so to speak?

Thanks ahead of time for your help! And if I'm posting this in the wrong place, just let me know where I should be posting....
While I'm not familiar with the Fender Mustang 1, I'd say for a 'Fell In Love With A Girl' tone you want some kind of preset that models a Fender Blues Junior (or any other good Fender tube amp model). Crank the gain up a bit, if your guitar has humbuckers that will help too. For this song I don't think he uses the Big Muff, so you don't need to use that.

Just my two cents on it!
Really, he doesn't use the Big Muff for the song? What makes you say that? I mean, that simplifies it, but definitely curious since I thought that was his go to distortion for all the early stuff.

Quote by nacnudnai
While I'm not familiar with the Fender Mustang 1, I'd say for a 'Fell In Love With A Girl' tone you want some kind of preset that models a Fender Blues Junior (or any other good Fender tube amp model). Crank the gain up a bit, if your guitar has humbuckers that will help too. For this song I don't think he uses the Big Muff, so you don't need to use that.

Just my two cents on it!