I want to record some covers into my laptop, but I don't understand the technology part yet.
First off:
I'm using a Schecter C-1 Lady Luck: https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/reviews/electric_guitars/schecter/c-1_lady_luck/index.html
And a Line 6 Spider IV 75w: https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/reviews/guitar_amplifiers/line_6/spider_iv_75/index.html

I'm not looking to record with a mic and this is where I get confused. Do I need a preamp or a DI-Box? If I select a channel on my amp, will the sound be the same going through the box? How much does my sound card affect the sound quality?

I'm a rookie at this, please understand if something seems very dumb.
Bombard me with questions if you need to get further info.
You'll want an interface. The soundcard on a computer is not designed for high quality recording. As well, the connections on the soundcard are 100% not optimal either, as they generally use 3/8" TRS jacks whereas all mics use XLR.

Get a 1 or 2 channel USB interface. They usually come with a lightweight DAW program as well, which will suffice.
Quote by Watterboy
Do you have any dilithium crystals or fresh warm dumps for sale
Pick out a nice interface, find some great software based amp sims and effects, plug in direct and wail away. The Spider can be used as a platform to hold your interface or to lean your guitar against while taking a break. Just don't plug it in while recording or bad things will happen.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY