I've been using the same recording software (Cubase 3) for 10 or 15 years and feel it's time for an update. I'm looking for an all-in-one program to record, mix, and master. Most of my recording is done using an M Audio Delta 66 soundcard or a MOTU Ultralight hybrid. The most important aspect of the software will be the wave editor. I want to be able to mix and master at least 16 instrument tracks at once and I need good selection of the basic plugins required for mastering.

Up until now I have avoided midi because in the antiquated software I've been using the midi features are very confusing, however, it is my understanding that midi is much easier to use now days and I would like to get some software that has simple, easy to use, midi functionality.

So what software are you crazy kids using now days? My budget cap is £600.00 but would prefer to spend less. I don't need a lot of frills, just the basics needed for acoustic blues, and classic folk music. What software should I look into?
Not taking any online orders.
If you're familiar with Cubase already, why not just upgrade to the new Pro 8.5? Or even the Cubase Artist 8.5, I think, would have everything you're looking for and would not have as big a learning curve. I started with VST 3.5, so I remember it - sort of. Haha.

That said, it really is a "whatever floats your boat" kind of question. Everyone will weigh in with a different platform. But whether you go with Logic, ProTools, or whatever else, they'll all sound the same. It will be workflow and usability that will determine how happy you are with it. I love Cubase myself.

If you want to save $$$, definitely consider Reaper. Though I've not used it myself, pipelineaudio on this forum loves it. He has worked with some big names - Megadeth, Sheryl Crow, Gin Blossoms... His work speaks for itself. If it's good enough for him, I'd suggest it's probably good enough for anyone.

CT
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?