Hey guys, I've been lurking on these forums for a bit and am now excited to join. So a bit more about me; I grew up an athlete and was never given a chance to learn music, more speicifilcally the guitar. I've always wanted to play but once I got to the point where I had a job and money to buy one I always chickened out thinking others where so far ahead of me at my age. I'm 20 and finally decided to buy a guitar; Schecter demon 6. Now the thing is, I know NOTHING. I don't even know what chords and scales are, or what the hell "shredding" or ripping is. I'm a complete noob. But I'm willing to put in as MUCH work as is needed. I already plan on practicing 3-4 hours a day. (I have an addictive personality). What books/resources do you guys recommend for me? My goal ultimately is to play metal.
A great resource is to check out Justinguitar (both his website and YouTube channel) and Marty Schwartz (YouTube). Both guys are great resources for beginning guitar.

When it comes to learning chords, start with a few different open chords (C, G, Am, E, Em are examples). They will keep you tide over for a bit as you work on getting comfortable with fingering them as well as switching between them. After you work out on switching between them, get a grip on power chords and barre chords, which may be a bit hard.