Page 1 of 4
Title says it all. Where did they even come from? Did they ever have any truth behind them, maybe back in the 70's or 80's (bear in mind I'm only 15 here)? Was it just angry old men using religion to justify their opinions?

(Keep lying, preachers, but there's no 11th commandment of "thou shalt not indulge in heavy metal")

Personally, I grew up around nu-metal and classic rock, with a bit of classic metal (Ozzy, Metallica, etc.) sprinkled in there. When I first heard heavy metal stereotypes when I was around ten, I couldn't believe it. How could anyone be stupid enough to believe that? No way could listening to Disturbed turn me into a mass-murderer! Liking Linkin Park (back then, not really anymore) didn't make me an angry kid! Slipknot didn't make me a Satanist, I was — and still am — a practising Catholic! How could anyone think Megadeth or Slayer aren't talented? Metal sure as hell hasn't made me stupid; I've been an honours student all my life!

Where did all these bullshit stereotypes come from? As someone who didn't grow up with the greats, I can't help but wonder who started it...
Last edited by toateridax2010 at Jul 11, 2016,
Metal music tends to be contrarian, which asspains some people. They take a look at a Slayer album cover and read the songtitles and instantly consider it blasphemy (nevermind the fact that Tom Araya is a Catholic)
I think the most prevalent stereotypes about metal fans have little to do with Satanism and more with the density and spread of hair on the neck.
Quote by JustRooster
That's a shamanic incantation of truth if I ever heard one.
Tipper Gore and the american conservative right.
o()o

Quote by JamSessionFreak
yes every night of my entire life i go to bed crying because i wasnt born american
I've been to a shitty metal concert before, they deserve every stereotype they get.
“Just to sum up: I would do various things very quickly.” - Donald Trump
It's a very old tale "these punk kids today"