So I have the hot rodded humbucker set in a Les paul with 250k volume pots and tbx's for both the tones. My problem is the jump of brightness in the jb once you get to the 1meg pot on the tbx. I have it wired as such:

Could this be fixed by adding a 220k cap between the 3 lugs on both of the pots to ease the transition? I'm not good with thinking through hypothetical wirings in my head and I need opinions.
Is the point of this TBX setup just to give you different tone filters? I'm not sure how valuable I'd find that, to be honest. Certainly I would consider using another pot value if it were available, I have not found 1M to be a friendly value for the JB. You can always fiddle with the R/C values, but perhaps I'm missing what the point of this mod is. If you're trying to make the transition less bright, aren't you just removing the function of the switch?

This seems like something far more suited to a single-coil guitar than to a JB. Perhaps I've misunderstood but I've done a whole lot of JB mods and this one is not one I'd expect to work well.
That's what I thought too, because the jb can be bright in Gibsons any way and cutting bass would just make it sound brighter. Buy what the mod attempts to do is fix how the stock tbx didn't actually cut bass, all it did was put a resistor to make it sound like it was cutting bass from 6 to 10 when in reality it was just cutting the resistor out of the circuit. Also, does a bass cut make it brighter or just thin your tone out more than anything?
Last edited by christopher0214 at Jul 11, 2016,
The stock 82k resistor loads the pickups and the 6-10 setting would put a variable 1M resistor in series with it to reduce the loading, so technically it did cut bass.

As for the jump in brightness, I think it has to do with the 250k side opening up so I don't think you can do anything about it. It's been years since I've dealt with this stuff on a daily basis so I could be wrong.