I've been playing left handed since I began, about 20 years ago. I finally have an American Strat, but unless I go custom shop, there are basically no guitars for me. I can never pick up and play a random guitar anywhere. I have to always play the same 3 or 4 low end left handed guitars that each store has to have in their inventory for the odd lefty.

So maybe I'll just switch. How long do you think it would take me to develop equivalent technique as a right-handed player?
I'm a teacher, so most of the year I play about 1.5 hours a day, over the summer I can play 3+.

I'm also wondering if attempting to learn righty will confuse my brain and hurt my ability to play lefty.
Last edited by RyanMW2010 at Jul 14, 2016,
Quote by RyanMW2010
I've been playing left handed since I began, about 20 years ago. I finally have an American Strat, but unless I go custom shop, there are basically no guitars for me. I can never pick up and play a random guitar anywhere. I have to always play the same 3 or 4 low end left handed guitars that each store has to have in their inventory for the odd lefty.

So maybe I'll just switch. How long do you think it would take me to develop equivalent technique as a right-handed player?
I'm a teacher, so most of the year I play about 1.5 hours a day, over the summer I can play 3+.

I'm also wondering if attempting to learn righty will confuse my brain and hurt my ability to play lefty.

I'm generally left handed for a lot of things, but I can only play right handed.

Have a look at some of the Schecter Traditional styled models, they do quite a lot of them in a lefty version
Bass Gear:

Mensinger: Speesy
Fender Precision 1989 (CIJ Rosewood)
Fender Steve Harris (CIJ)
Lakland J Sonic 5
Epiphone Explorer
Maruszczyk (custom) Jake

Ashdown CTM 100
I made the switch after year one and it took 6 months or so to adapt. I do play differently righty than lefty but maybe thats a good thing.