So I already said some of this in my intro, but I'll say it again here with a new question.

So my recent love for Metal has gotten me to buy a guitar and amp. I'm musically brain dead and don't know anything. I've been doing research though.

So ultimatly I want to play metal/rock for a band (this is WAY in the future given my skill). I know I should start by learning chords and riffs for my first few months. I was wondering; should I learn power chords first? Or should I get a good grasp on basic chords/learning how to switch between them before moving on to power chords? Are power chords used more in metal(I know, total noob question). Once again, I'm COMPLETLY new to this, I'm learning a whole new world right now.
90% of metal is going to use power chords because they use the least dissonant intervals (an interval as in the difference between the pitch in the notes) and the "distortion" that makes a guitar sound "metal" as opposed to "clean" will amplify the dissonance in chords with other intervals which results in what most people would consider a displeasing sound.

at some point it's nice to start learning chords with more and more different intervals in them, you see a lot of different chords used in softer clean or acoustic sections played as nice sounding arpeggios to contrast heavy riffs (think fade to black) or played high up on the neck with a sweeping motion in the picking hand in solos.