I just started playing electric lead and I find that when I release bent strings the open strings sound. Is this a problem for anyone else? I have researched a lot on this topic but cannot find anything that is comfortable for me. What kind of muting techniques do you use? Any help would be very much appreciated.

P.S. Some people suggest muting with the other fingers on your fretting hand but you can't do that with 3-fingered bends.
I mute with both hands. Which one just depends on position and the riff.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY
Kristoff162 Proper muting and dampening is what separates great guitar players from amateurs. You need to use everything - left hand and the right hand - the palm of your right hand and fingers - check out Eric Johnson's instructional video - he has a section where he discusses dampening and it is very helpful.
So let's say you bend the b string on the 12th fret up a whole tone (so that you also push into the g string), as you move back down you're actually releasing the g string to play an open G.

The best advice is to do what I said above, but do it really, really slowly. You'll be able to see/feel what is best for you to mute that g string. As mentioned above, for some people it's easier to use the fretting hand, others the picking hand. Ideally you'd get to a point where you can use both, but you'll always favour one over the other.