Looking for a guitar that is a practical purchase. I play a lot of grateful dead and am a huge jerry garcia fan. The phred instruments supposedly got great reviews but the prs seems like a go to instrument to play some good leads on. The band i play in uses a lot of jamming into the sets so i need a good lead tone most of all. Looking mainly at the liger or deadbolt for phred and at the prs se custom 22 hollow body.
PRS is the safer bet between the two. Pricier, but they have a good, long track record.

Phreds look great, but they're a pretty new company. Don't know how good they really are. I've come close to buying one on eBay, but I haven't made the leap- I have other priorities at the moment.

They could be killer, though. I have gambled on a few brands, and so far, so good.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by ethanball888
Looking for a guitar that is a practical purchase. I play a lot of grateful dead and am a huge jerry garcia fan. The phred instruments supposedly got great reviews but the prs seems like a go to instrument to play some good leads on. The band i play in uses a lot of jamming into the sets so i need a good lead tone most of all. Looking mainly at the liger or deadbolt for phred and at the prs se custom 22 hollow body.

Guess I'll have to drive up to Tarzana and check the Phreds out. These aren't even locally known.