This song started with a joke idea when messing around on my guitar a few months back. I just started playing the riff during the "Breakdown" section, and I immediately thought to myself "Wow, this is really cliche and would be found in a typical metal-core song." On top of that, I added a general riff basis for the verse, and I can't remember where I even got the inspiration for it from.

Anywho, it wasn't until last week that I began to think of this idea again. Over the span of two days last week, I wrote the remainder of the song, re-arranged everything, came up with the vocal melody, and even wrote the lyrics to the chorus. The main line is "We can only go so far when hiding from the truth."

What I noticed is that this song is a bit different than the typical blues-rock stuff that I typically play, listen to, and write. The main influence from this song, especially the melody, comes from one of my favorite bands: The Birthday Massacre. I've also taken in numerous ideas throughout the years from many of the modern rock, pop/punk, and *insert term here*-core that I've heard alongside the Top 40s radio and classic rock.

I hope you guys enjoy it, and I am more than willing to do C4C for anyone here on the forum.
Attachments:
Hiding From the Truth (UG).gp5
Skip the username, call me Billy
Last edited by aerosmithfan95 at Feb 8, 2017,
So, firstly, thanks for the crit on my piece!

The thing that jumped out at me immediately is how many times the verse-chorus-turn around structure is repeated. Three times with little variation is too much for me personally. This song in particular I think could do with a variant verse or two to mix things up. But hey, plenty of genres make do with repetition like this so that's totally up to you.