Hey guys. I am, in fact, tired and frustrated seeing my Ibanez GRX70QA and Line 6 Spider IV 15W. Before I start, I want to mention that I am an amateur guitarist but I do know for sure that I want to continue to play the guitar. By amateur I mean that I read straight off from the tabs and know how to play riffs here and there. I'm self-taught. I had a hectic school schedule so I couldn't practice as much as I wanted to.

Anyways, I have $3,000 saved up. I really don't know how much to spend. In regards to the guitar, I am looking for an attractive and versatile one. One that can play rock/post-hardcore (Skillet/Thrice) to death metal (Arch Enemy, Nile) to black metal (Emperor, Behemoth), you name it. I don't know whether to get a guitar with a fixed bridge or with a floyd rose. Also, can you use a seven string guitar as a six string guitar because I was thinking of doing just that. I want to play some Deftones, Trivium, and Whitechapel, to mention but a few.

In terms of the amp, I am looking for any amp besides a Line 6 Spider.

Please help me out. There are so many questions that come to mind but I only mentioned a few. Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

*** I'm a girl not a "he".
Last edited by PacificMyth at Jul 28, 2016,
First of all, I have to applaud your fiscal restraint! I guess keeping your eyes on the prize helped?

$3K can get you a pro quality rig in the USA, especially if you're willing to shop used and/or online. In what general region do you live? It will help us figure out what deals are better for you.

The conventional wisdom around here- and I fully agree- is that the buik of your tone comes from your amp, and it should be the focus of your budget. 1/3-1/2 is typical...on budgets less beefy than yours. For metal, I'd look at Mesa, Orange and Peavey. I guarantee you others will come along with some more, excellent ideas.