Hi, I am completely self-taught, now five months into playing - I am 41 and it seems that middle age crisis starts to creep in, so I decided to hit the axe and try to play some blues.
Any comments as to where I stand after 5 months? My desire is to play the blues.

(Note concerning the recording: video and audio were recorded separately. I am very camera shy, so I had to do it that way, mostly in order to review the posture and the sound on one video)

Last edited by nenadkostic1975 at Jul 23, 2016,
Sounds pretty good. There are no dead notes and it sounds rhythmically accurate.

Your guitar is a bit out of tune. Well, I guess that adds some authentic blues sound to it.

(I also liked how it was an actual song and not just aimless noodling over the 12 bar blues progression. Because when I hear beginner and blues in the same sentence, aimless noodling is what I expect to hear.)
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
Yeah, this Bullet Strat has some tuning issues, stays in tune for about 10 minutes or so and then all goes south.

Thank you for your feedback
For five months, that's impressive. Suggest you start investigating use of vibrato, and slight bends next ... e.g. against the E chord, try fretting the 3rd fret, treble string. listen to that. Then try the 4th fret (which is a pitch found in the E chord, whereas the pitch made at the 3rd fret isn't). Then try bending the 3rd fret slightly, so the pitch doesn't quite reach as high as the sound of the 4th fret ... it's quite subtle. But whatever you do, don't fall into the very common beginner's trap of then trying to slightly bend the note that matches the chord root (e.g. don't try slightly bending an E, against an E chord ... that is the biggest no-no).
Last edited by jerrykramskoy at Jul 23, 2016,