The gist of it is in the title. I am 20yo, and I started playing about 7.5 years ago. I maxed out my picking speed in about 6 months to approximately 125-130bpm with 16th notes... and despite constant practice for 7 years... I am still at 125-130bpm.

Note: This is specifically about alternate picking on one string.

I am not exactly looking for practice guides, or technique advice, as I've spent countless days reading posts about alternate picking. The practice time was not useless, as I got much more efficient and comfortable, but I've never figured out how to increase my maximum speed. I can switch strings, cross strings, anchor my finger, not anchor my finger, palm mute etc. all at about 125-130bpm now, but that's where I seem to be permanently stuck. I am not even tensing my arm up whatsoever anymore.

I think my problem may be biological, rather than technique related. I find that the "lateral" movement your hand makes when picking from the wrist is simple unnatural to do. Forgetting about the guitar for a second, I can oscillate my whole arm (elbow joint) at about 200bpm by basically vibrating my arm, and I can move my wrist up and down (palm facing down) by doing the same thing, but moving it side to side? Nope, it just feels like my hand isn't supposed to do that, and I definitely can't vibrate it back and forth.

So I'm just wondering, has anyone else ever had this problem? If so, did you ever find a solution? Or did you just give up on improving?