So I've been playing guitar for 3 years, and I decided about six months ago to try and get into playing stuff like Black Veil Brided and Falling In Reverse. Say what you want about these bands, but the guitarists are excellent at what they do, and since that is the type of music I want to make (more the excitement those types of solos give) and so I want to be able to play what they made and then move on to my own projects and apply what I learnt from their songs.

So, in high hopes I started googling how I get my speed up, found that a few recourses were recommending the same type of exercises (being "go up and down a scale a bunch of times every x times a week and you'll get faster) - so I diid that, saw huge progress to start with, and then it gradually slowed down - as expected, however it seems that I cannot progress any further without losing the accuracy and I feel like I have hit a glass ceiling. I can't seem to find many other exercises to help me hit my goal.

Do I just keep pushing forwards despite no apparent improvement (I don't expect overnight mastery, but after playing 660 bars per week, over a couple of months, you would see some improvement, right?) do I try something else? Are there any stretches that may help? Am I completely missing the point? Can only certian people actually achieve the goal of playing things to that level, regardless of the level of commitment.

Once again, I know that it took these people years to play what they can play, I'm not expecting to be that good, that quickly, but I would expect some improvement. I'm just feeling so discouraged honestly.
Quote by fchfgvsabgf1
Do I just keep pushing forwards despite no apparent improvement (I don't expect overnight mastery, but after playing 660 bars per week, over a couple of months, you would see some improvement, right?).

Well first of all, counting your time spent playing in "bars per week" is silly Honestly this is the first time I've heard this one.