Hi, UG members!

I'm not a pro guitarrist, but I've played for 4 years. I've been interested lately in what is called tapping, as it is a good technique, especially for solos. However, I have two issues with it:

Most of times I start tapping just fine, but I always end up touching accidentally the nearest strings. I've practiced a lot, but I can't avoid touching those strings, so while I tap, I can hear those strings ringing in the background, not dominant in the sound, but annoying.

Also, tapping doesn't seem to sound as strong as with the pick. Is it my fault, my equipment's fault, or what? I have a starter guitar from the hammett series, and a Line 6 Spider IV 15 amplifier.

So, any tips? I can't rock out Silvera without tapping ;_;

Thank you in advance!
Stand on your feet, partner. We've still got things to do.
String noise: you have to mute these other strings.

Loudness: you need to pluck the string with your tapping finger ... it's not just tap and lift. So, you can either pull the string towards your head, or towards the floor, as part of the release.
What ^ said. To add to it~ I think that looking up YouTube videos of people tapping, whether it be your favorite musicians to just some tutorial made by some dude on the internet, is going to provide the best help you'll need.

A recommendation of mine is to look up Buckethead who does this thing called I THINK 4 finger tapping. You can actually, (which I do personally), use all 8 fingers to do this. It sounds gnarly as fuck and from the sounds of your choice of guitar I think you'll agree.

Let me know if I helped at all. Also, if you have any questions, ask, because I'd love to continue to help you out.
Alright guys, I'll try those when I can thank you for your time :3
Stand on your feet, partner. We've still got things to do.