Hello everyone

I'm completely new to bass guitars and looking to buy one with a budget of £250 for oi/punk genre, old and new, bands such as cock sparrer, undertones, 999, lurkers, last resort, booze and glory, old firm casuals, rude pride (particularly beautiful bass sound, listen to song such as Hated and Rejected by them), lion's law, perkele, etc. I searched solely by the brand (with aim on precision pickups) and what would seem to be the best 2 I could find in my price range were: ESP LTD B-10 and Yamaha TRBX174.

My question is, are these 2 suitable for the genre I'm going to be playing and if so, which one of the 2 should I go for? In any case I'm completely of the track can someone point me to right direction, considering my budget?

Ta for your advises
Last edited by goodtotalk at Jul 26, 2016,
So, when people say Punk, most often, everyone is going to suggest a Precision type bass. However, after a bit of a listen to Rude Pride, you may want to look more in the Jazz bass family-- a tone first popularized by Klaus Flouride of the Dead Kennedys.

From the pickup configuration, the Yamaha would be better, though I have not played one myself. I've never been a big fan of the ESP basses from a playing and tone perspective

Also, you might want to see if you can pick up a used Fender VM Jazz or P/J bass somewhere--it would also suit your requirements as well.
get a used p bass, although a jazz bass can do good too. the crunchy p bass's pickup gives it that greasy shooting sound you need for punk though.
I'm a dirty fuckin' punk / i sell myself for a beer
Hey guys

Anarkee - I had the same feel after listening to Rude Pride, even though I don't know much about bass guitars, the sound on that one didn't fit what I would expect from precision I'll try contacting the band themselves to see what the bassist has actually got.