I have a Traynor 100 watt tube head. I got it used a few months ago and haven't replaced the tubes yet. I played a festival show Saturday, outside where it was 100 degress F in the shade. After ten minutes, my amp just stopped working. I had a back up solid state and finished the show with that but now it's a few days later and the amp seems to be functional again. Any ideas why?
Rig:
'91 Eric Clapton strat w/ MT-2 preamp and piezo bridge system

Lotus '62 Strat replica
Epiphone Sheraton w/ Pearly Gates Pups
Epiphone Sheraton STOCK
Epiphone Tom Delonge ES-333

Epiphone EJ-200CE

Traynor YCV40T
Traynor HEAD
It most likely overheated and the circuit was temporarily shut off, but is still functional and not broken. I've had no experience with Traynor but ENGL heads do the same. If it's something else, it'll depend on the model of the amp.
The above post is in terms of 'YMMV' and 'IMO', etc...

Quote by Offworld92
This debate is exhausting to read.
The guitar world is drowned in fairy dust.
We need to start at the very beginning. What is tone.
what specific amp?

I think that it could have been a thermo shutdown, as 2crosser said, but the specific amp needs to be known.

If I am ever playing out doors in hot weather, i always bring a little fan to keep air moving.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"

Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.

Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.

****** NEW NEW NEW!
2017-07-07 2017-07-07 Update and a Chat On Noise Constraints *** NEW FRIDAY 7/7
2017-04-13 RUN AWAY from COMPUTERS!!! TCE? RANT ALERT!!!
2017-03-02 - Guitar Philosophy 1001- Be Prepared For the Situation (Thursday 2017-03-02)
2017-02-21 How to Hot-Rod the Hell of your Stratocaster for $50! (Tuesday 2017-2-21)
Resentments and Rambling from a Guitar Junkie
---> http://trashedengineering.blogspot.com/
The amp is a Traynor YCS 100H2 and I had it running through a power conditioner.