Hey peeps, been playing guitar for about 20 years, but I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to pedals, have got my pedal board sorted but I've no clue when it comes to what order they should be in, or if it even matters? Anyway I'm using : Tuner, Ehx Mel9, Boss Chorus, Digitech Whammy, Behringer Noise gate and a Behringer Wah. Any help much appreciated

Edit: thought I'd better add, the tuner, Mel9 and whammy are plug powered, the rest are battery
Last edited by TheBigJorkowski at Jul 27, 2016,
Does your amp have an effects loop?

You should generally run the guitar straight into the tuner. I would put the Whammy and wah after the tuner, the order shouldn't matter. I would run the gate after these, and then go into the front of the amp. If you have an effects loop I would run the chorus in there, followed by the Mel9.

Not certain about the Mel9 as I have never used one but everything else I'm fairly certain on.

You can experiment to a degree. Like you may get a more desirable sound putting the gate before the wah, for example. But the only thing I would suggest as a definite is run the tuner first, and the modulation/delays last or in the loop if possible.
Quote by TheBigJorkowski
Hey peeps, been playing guitar for about 20 years, but I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to pedals, have got my pedal board sorted but I've no clue when it comes to what order they should be in, or if it even matters? Anyway I'm using : Tuner, Ehx Mel9, Boss Chorus, Digitech Whammy, Behringer Noise gate and a Behringer Wah. Any help much appreciated

Edit: thought I'd better add, the tuner, Mel9 and whammy are plug powered, the rest are battery
Firstly, invest in a PSU, either something as cheap as a 1-Spot or an Isolated Power Brick like the Voodoo Labs. It will save you money in the long run, make your pedals more reliable, and will prevent any undesirable "dying battery" sounds. Make sure you get the proper power ratings for your units. Check here if you do not know how to do that.