Hi all -
Ive been grappling with room acoustic issues for some time now, most noticably during mixing and production. But now, Im starting to wonder if my room acoustics are wrecking havoc during tracking. Let me give you some background:
My amp is an engl powerball thru a mesa4x12 v30, no pedals or effects, and CLOSE micd with an sm57. My amp settings are bass at 5/10, mids at 4.5/10, treble at 3/10 (the treble sounds really harsh past 4), the presence and depth punch are 5/10, gain is 4/10, the 'bottom' switch is off, and my contour switch is off. My interface is an rme babyface and im running reaper as my daw. My speakers are JBL Lsr308s. You should also note that I recently started using Room EQ Wizard to get some corrective eq for my room; i have an eq vst in my master that i switch on and off for the corrected sound.

So here is the issue that I noticed - I was micing up my guitar amp to test some recorded tones. Before micing, i put my ear next to the speaker where I planned to place my mic and looked for a nice beefy overdriven tone- it didnt take long to find that. So I recorded it. When I played the track back (without my room correction), it sounded pretty accurate/similar to what I heard with my head near the speaker (beefy, maybe more low end than I expected, well rounded). But when I switch on my room corrective Eq, it lost like all of its power. It sounds like it is just tons of midrange with not enough beef. It doesnt sound bad on its own, but when you compare it to a guitar amp demo (i listened to Ola playing through an Engl Fireball 100, with practically the same exact setup) or some production with heavy guitars, it just sounds really weak in a one-on-one guitar comparison. So I thought, maybe I screwed up my room Eq correction.