You want that active tone. You'd be transforming a guitar from passive to actives in the process. But you're on a budget.

Before you do that, I have to ask, are you going to be doing the routing for the battery cavity yourself? Have you gotten the right pots?

If the answers to those questions are "No.", you might want to consider Lace Alumitone Deathbuckers. They're higher priced than your budget, but they deliver a tone similar to actives, but they're passives, so you don't have the additional expenses & concerns from doing the conversion.

Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by dannyalcatraz
You want that active tone. You'd be transforming a guitar from passive to actives in the process. But you're on a budget.

Before you do that, I have to ask, are you going to be doing the routing for the battery cavity yourself? Have you gotten the right pots?

If the answers to those questions are "No.", you might want to consider Lace Alumitone Deathbuckers. They're higher priced than your budget, but they deliver a tone similar to actives, but they're passives, so you don't have the additional expenses & concerns from doing the conversion.

Dimarzio D-Activators are a good choice for that Active sound in a passive pup. I have some that came stock on my Ibanez Xiphos and they are tight and punchy I was surprised how close they sound to active you should be able to find some used on eBay, I want to try some deathbuckers almost did once and got cold feet.

FWIW most guitars have enough room in the control cavity to fit a 9V battery I have EMG's on my 93 King V and there is no route for the battery just a piece of foam to keep it from moving around or making contact with the pots/wiring etc. I could probably fit 2 for the 18V mod though I haven't tried yet.