Hi Guys,

Right from the start, I know almost nothing about guitar teck, so please forgive me !!

I'm also fairly new to playing Guitar and mostly riff Black Sabbath. LOVE BLACK SABBATH !!

I've got a well setup Gibson SG standard.

I've owned a few different small combo amps from Cube.

I thought I'd move into the 'big League' the other day and bought a Vox AC4C1 amp. The amp is fantastic, deep base and glass like treble, it sounds lovely and full.

I then bought a Vox Tonelab ST thinking it would be every pedal I'd ever need in one box. The problem was that after an hour of trying everything, the Tonelab just seemed to kill the tone of my Vox AC4. Maybe it's my total lack of knowledge, but I'd have thought that after an hour I'd be able to get some of the base I know my amp has back, but no I got all sorts of sounds from the Tonelab, but it just seemed to kill the clarity of the AC4. Yes I did set the Tonelab to 'V'.

Having looked around the net, some players say to buy real individual pedals as combo pedals are not always the right thing.

Before I rush out to my music store and buy (waste money on) even more single pedals, can anybody advise me on what to do at this point?

Thank you for any help.
Firstly, the AC4 is quite a ways away from anything I would use for Sabbath tones or metal tones in general. It is just not that voicing. Also, are you running amp sims from the Tonelab into the amp? If so, you are stacking "guitar-voiced" simulations into an amp that is already "guitar-voiced", one that is not meant to handle that kind of signal. If you are doing it that way, then I suggest you listen to the Tonelab through headphones, as you just need to be able to hear the signal if the Tonelab is doing all the distortion and amp work.
Last edited by Will Lane at Jul 29, 2016,
If you're looking for the Sabbath tone in a pedal check out Catalinbread Sabbra Cadabra pedal
Gear:
PRS SE Custom 22
Ibanez RG3EX1
Gibson Gary Moore BFG
1970s ASPEN Les Paul clone