I'm in northwest UK and my teacher charges£18 for half an hour and he's mint. I'm so glad I take them. I started with YouTube tutorials and didn't know how to pluck a string correctly! So he put me straight and I'm progressing nicely. I notice he's quite expensive relatively speaking but he seems to pace himself with my ability and enthusiasm and goes over the time limit at times so I tip him?
Last edited by Aprilla at Aug 4, 2016,
I've never taken lessons that had a price per lesson, instead I paid something like 200e for half a year of guitar and theory classes (two 1h lessons per week). I can't remember the exact price. Please note however that I studied at a musical academy that offered formal education in music so it's pretty different from private guitar lessons.
Quote by Jet Penguin
Theory: Not rules, just tools.

Quote by Hail
*note that by fan i mean that guy who wants his friends to know he knows this totally obscure hip band that only he knows about with 236 views on youtube. lookin' at Kev here
I meant in terms of pricing, not education^^
Quote by Jet Penguin
Theory: Not rules, just tools.

Quote by Hail
*note that by fan i mean that guy who wants his friends to know he knows this totally obscure hip band that only he knows about with 236 views on youtube. lookin' at Kev here
Last edited by Kevätuhri at Aug 4, 2016,
I paid $50 a month for lessons at the local guitar shop. Once a week lessons, about 1/2 hour each. Teacher was pretty good.
I always recommend lessons. If not a paid professional, at least with someone who can show you proper technique. You can learn a lot on your own, sure, but someone to start you off is never a bad thing.
Harmony: Stratocaster
Alvarez: F-200
Schecter: Omen 6
Fender: BXR-60
Dean: Metalman Z Bass (Betty)
Egnator: Tweaker 15
Pearl: Maximum
ESP/LTD: EXP-300
Custom: Harley Quinn Bass
Custom: TK-421 Explorer
A steadily growing supply of pedals