Recently I haven't been happy with the level of my playing but I'm finding it hard to discipline myself and create a structured practice plan to solve this problem.
I think I know enough to realize what I'm actually bad at and what needs work but actually dealing with those weakness's seems to elude me, I feel completely blinkered and rudderless so if I give you guys a quick outlay of my ability can you offer some advice please?

I've been playing around 10 years, I started playing mainly indie/rock for the majority of those 10 and I've flirted with metal more recently. My focus was always on learning the theoretical side, improvising and developing my "feel" as opposed to actually learning genre specific standards which seems to leave me with a poor ability to apply musical ideas effectively despite having the technique to execute them. I can sweep pick fairly accurately and cleanly but I only have a limited repertoire of standard triad arpeggios, actually creating musical ideas that implement sweeping seems to be something I'm pretty bad at. Could anyone recommend any good songs or exercises that would remedy this problem? My alternate picking needs serious work, I believe I understand the mechanics involved: pick slanting, angle, hand position, and string switching etc but I seem to have only two settings; really slow and accurate or super fast (almost tremolo picked) but messy. I've tried Gilbert's 4's exercises but I've seen no improvement in my clarity at high speeds, again any advice/exercises or good songs examples would be greatly appreciated. I can manage tapping on one string fine but I find when switching strings it sounds messy and I just can't understand why this is so, again this is an SOS to the guitar Gods please help.