Page 1 of 3
I've heard very mixed things about BOSS pedals. Some people say stuff like "Metal zone is bad" or the other effects are bad, but then I see people using some of their others. I was thinking of getting a Digital Delay myself because I think it sounds awesome. What are your guys' thoughts on this particular company?
Who needs shred when you've got rhythm guitar? :^)
Guitars:
Jackson King V (With a Wilde L500XL in the bridge)
Ibanez Iron Label RGIX27FEQM (7-string)
Some Boss pedals are bad at what they claim to do. Others are damn good.

However, Boss pedals have certain things going for them:

1) reasonably well built, they rarely fail
2) reasonably priced, so IF they fail, replacements are affordable
3) nearly ubiquitous, so that if you need to replace one, you will probably be able to find one, in any reasonably cosmopolitan area
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
I'd avoid all modern Boss distortions due to the sterile sound that they produce, although if you like the sound then whatever. Like others have said, build quality is pretty good, and if you dig the delay's sound then I reckon you should go for it
A lot of snobs like to hate on them but Boss pedals have been a big part of hundreds of legendary guitarists' and albums' sounds. Their distortion pedals seem to be hated but you can get some really great classic tones out of the DS-1, HM-2, MT-2, etc with the right amp and quite a number of influential albums were recorded with those pedals. I've always just assumed that gear snobs just don't know how to work most things. The SD-1 is a very popular boost though.

Like Danny said though, they are inexpensive, rugged and reliable, and easily replaceable pretty much anywhere you will realistically go as a musician.