Hi, I'm just about to purchase the ESP LTD Viper 100fm, but I also need an amp, of course. My budget is pretty low; 40 dollars. I've considered perhaps getting the Vox amPlug, since its in that price range but I'd also like hearing other people's opinions, from those who use it and also recommendations. I'm just starting out, I've been practicing on my acoustic but I'm moving to an electric. The type of music I'd play would be themes of any kind but also move towards the rock genre and so on. I'd appreciate no form of "Stick to acoustic" advice. Thanks!
Find a Zoom G1on, used if necessary. You won't regret it.

Failing that, any used multi effects unit (Line 6 would be a good place to start) would be 100 times better than the amPlug you're considering.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
Yes, it has a headphone jack.

It also has dozens of amp models, dozens of effects,a tuner, a basic drum sequencer, a looper, and an aux input.

The amPlug is OK, but it only does one thing and you're stuck with it. Get a multi effects unit, you can do almost everything imaginable.
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
GaryBillington

It looks good but I'm just a little concerned since I've never seen something like it. Does it require batteries or does it plug into a socket?
Thing is, I need an amp that can use the speakers and can plug in headphones for silent playing. But doesn't this need an amp?
The Amplug you're looking at can't do that, it can only really do headphones. Also, it only has one sound, so it extremely un-versatile.