So my band broke up a couple months ago. I was singing and playing rhythm guitar on an Ovation acoustic-electric. When the band broke up, I got together with the bass player and drummer with the intent of starting a trio, but the acoustic just isn't cutting it. So I've been putting myself through electric guitar boot camp. I keep trying to play the electric (it's a cheap, used Ibanez S-type, but I'll get something nicer for gigging eventually) with a pick, but I keep putting the pick down and going back to just my fingers. It's mostly a matter of comfort; the way I've been holding the pick on an acoustic for the last 17 years just isn't comfortable on the electric and I think I'm in too deep to change now. I play a lot of fingerstyle on the acoustic, so I'm happy playing with my fingers, but my strumming isn't great and the fingerstyle hand position isn't the best for damping strings.

I've been watching a lot of videos of guys like Browen Lollar and Michael Kiwanuka (also some Knopfler, of course, but he just seems to be in an entirely different, unapproachable league).

So, who here plays electric with just the soft tips of their fingers? How do you strum? Who do you watch/listen to for inspiration? What kind of guitar do you play and have you found one that works better for finger playing than another? Any other pointers?
Death to Ovation haters!
See also Jeff Beck and Andy's demos for ProGuitarShop.com.

When I play electric fingerstyle, i use the edge of my thumb and/or the backs of my fingers- as in, the nails.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!