Page 1 of 2
Hello. I just recently started playing guitar on my acoustic then switched to my first electric, a ESP LTD Viper 100fm, thanks to people in this community, I found it and I love it. Reason I decided to get into playing guitar was my love for music, and my wanting to embrace it. I'm still a beginner, but I'm on the path to increase my skill.

This is for you guys, it's a question and a discussion I'd like to hear from you (only if you feel comfortable sharing). What motivated you to start? What instruments? And how far have you come?

Thank you. And this thread also serves for newcomers who can hear other stories, and how it may motivate them as well.
Last edited by TheArmoredBat at Aug 27, 2016,
Quote by TheArmoredBat
What motivated you to start?

Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock
Quote by Jet Penguin
Theory: Not rules, just tools.

Quote by Hail
*note that by fan i mean that guy who wants his friends to know he knows this totally obscure hip band that only he knows about with 236 views on youtube. lookin' at Kev here
I started with trumpet when I was 7 years old. I don't remember exactly why I chose trumpet. Maybe it had to do with the fact that my dad used to play trumpet when he was younger and also the fact that we already had an old trumpet (don't know why we had it - nobody really played it). Well, playing an instrument was something I have always kind of took for granted because my mom is a professional musician (she used to teach music theory and now plays organ in church) and my big brother played the flute. So I wanted to start playing an instrument too - it just felt like the right thing to do because everybody in my family played/had played an instrument.