Hi all,

I've been playing guitar for like 10 years. I have a '52 telecaster with a custom hot rails pickup and a fender hot rod deluxe amp. But I'm a little bored by the tone of the amp. I've bought it in 2008 and I like the clean tone, but the drive/overdrive is not my type anymore and it's impossible to play at home because of the volume so I only use it with band rehearsals. I've got some pedals I would like an amp with a built in decent hard rock sound.

So I'm looking for a new tube amp with a good clean channel and a nice hard rock overdrive or distortion channel that also isn't too loud (or one that can switch between watts).

Or does someone thinks this amp is a keeper and I should use some other pedals to crank it up?

Thx for your answers!

Cheers,
Mike
I highly recommend the JCM 2000 DSL series. They're solid versatile amps that have one of the better Marshall clean tones around.

Also you gave no budget so maybe something like a Mesa Roadking
Last edited by nickdohle at Aug 27, 2016,
Have you thought about getting something like a single-channel Orange amp, running that as your dirty and the Fender as your clean? Then if the "rock" amp you get plays well at home volumes, just use that at home, and both for gigs?

You could also consider a preamp like the Two Notes Le Crunch or Le Lead, either through the front of the amp, or into the power amp. Or a small amp that you can use at home, then run into the power amp of your Fender. An Orange Micro Dark or Peavey 5150 Piranha would work, as you could go out from the micro head's effects loop send, then get all the volume from the Fender's power amp, bypassing the solid state effects loop. You might want something bigger though.
Last edited by luke.g.henderso at Aug 27, 2016,
Quote by MikeBeerQ
nickdohle My budget is around 1000 euro's ( i'm from Belgium ) !

I hear the Brexit has the pound down, if grab an all tube Marshall before they rebound