I am looking to get my first tube amp and some pedals to use for heavy metal and could use some advice on what to get since I have little experience with amps/pedals. I've read through a bunch of other threads, but would like some feedback to make sure I don't overlook something.

a) What to buy? A combo amp (or head and cabinet if that would be better) and some pedals.

b) Where will I play? Mostly in my apartment. Currently I share one wall with a neighbor (no one is above or below me) and I rarely hear anything through the walls, so I should be able to make some noise. In a few years I might look into joining a band if I have time, but probably not anytime soon.

c) Budget? Under $1000 total would be nice. I can spend more if needed, but in general I would like to avoid going too overboard given that I will primarily just play in my apartment.

d) Type of music? Metal. In particular I would like it to sound good for doom metal (Electric Wizard/Crowbar), black metal (Marduk/Satyricon), death metal (Amon Amarth/Nile) and grindcore (Rotten Sound/Napalm Death), but I also play other metal genres some.

e) Current gear:
Guitar: ESP LTD EC-1000
Amp: Roland Microcube
Pedals: None

f) Skill level: I’ve played off and on for a few years (I’ve been playing more consistently over the last year), so I am sloppy at times and not particularly fast, but I can play slow/mid-paced stuff reasonably well.

g) Will I buy used? Sure, as long as I have some way to make sure what I am getting is in good condition.

h) Nearby cities? I can make a day trip to Chicago and a few other mid-western US cities. My current city has a few hundred thousand people.

i) What I have been looking at: