Hey all, I've been playing guitar for 9 years and recently started playing bass with a band that is interested in getting more serious. In a strange way, it is almost like a veil has been lifted off my eyes because bass has this real feeling that, as much as I love it still, I have never experienced with guitar.

Looking into buying some gear, but I don't know the big names or what fits me yet, so I thought you guys might be able to help me out.

Looking for a driver/modeler, a friend highly recommended a VT Bass Deluxe... pretty set on that, but I'm looking for amp/cabs that would go well with it. Feel free to hit me up with any questions that might help. I'm more of a better value than higher price sort of guy, if that helps (aka, not loaded)
TOP 500 Contributors
If you've got a real metalcore song that you want tabbed, let me know. I'll see what I can do.
Well you can certainly get a better value if you're willing/able to shop around for used gear.

The VT Bass Deluxe is a great piece of kit, and I would highly recommend it if you're looking for that kind of classic Ampeg SVT type vibe. As to whether you need it or not, that's up to you and whether you can achieve the tone you want with or without it.

Seems like you're more in the dark about the amp though, and on that note it would be helpful if you could give us a price range to work with and what you intend to use it for. For example a solid practice amp can be had for cheap, but you'll for sure need something more if you need to heard over a drummer in practice, or if you need it to gig without a DI, etc.
Composite Aficionado

Spector and Markbass