Hi all!

I just came across my mother's old acoustic guitar in our basement. I don't play acoustic yet, and I'm just a newbie on the electric, so I thought it would be great to use her guitar to get started. Problem is, it's been sitting in our furnace room for *ages* (like, easily 30+ years without use). Thankfully that's the driest room in the house, and it stays dark, so I don't think the elements have gotten to it, but it's been sitting forgotten with broken strings for the entire time so who knows how the wood's changed. Aside from the obvious "replace the strings," what do I need to do to get this thing back in shape to play? Is this a job for the professionals?

Thanks everyone!
A few problems might have developed with a guitar of that age that has spent so long in warm and dry conditions. OTOH it might be perfectly OK. Probably the best thing to do would be to take it to a guitar technician to have it checked out. If not, then perhaps look for info about how to do it yourself somewhere like Frets.com

http://www.frets.com/FretsPages/OwnerManual/manssguitar.html
What make/model of guitar is it? Can you make out a name on the headstock or read the label inside?

I wouldn't worry about the guitar being unstrung. The dryness you mention is what would worry me, especially over 30+ years. Of course, it's possible the humidity in the home was perfect the entire time. At any rate...I'd visually inspect the instrument first, making sure there aren't any cracks or loose bracing anywhere. If the tuners look/feel solid....and your nut and saddle are good, and the body looks good...string it up yourself! Then give it a whirl and see if you have fret buzz, high action, whatever. You'll probably have to take it to a luthier to have it set up properly, but you might surprise yourself and find it's already playable.
Got it! Thanks guys. I'm away from the house right now so I don't have access to the guitar, but when I go back I'll get the make/model/year of the guitar.