Poll: Which one?
Poll Options
View poll results: Which one?
Get an Epiphone SG G-400 Pro
9 90%
Get something else
1 10%
Voters: 10.
So right now I am looking for a new guitar in the sub $400 range and I am thinking about getting an SG. Is it a good guitar for the money? Should I get it? I went to Guitar Center and played it - sounded great and it's really nice looking. I am a beginner (well not super beginner - I can play quite a few things) but I can't solo. I mostly play metal and rock. Any tips or experiences with this guitar would be appreciated
Overdrive me daddy

Guitars:
Epiphone G400 Custom
Yamaha F335
Amp:
Marshall DSL401
Do it. I have a SG 400 (not pro). I bought it as a factory "second" in mint condition for under $300. Lightweight, sounds good, plays good, and I find myself reaching for it more and more over my MIM Strat / Epi Tribute. Thanks to the unplugged sustain it has I play it acoustic style when I want to learn new songs, run scales, and for general noodling but on occasion I'll plug in with a reverb / distortion in front of the amp and it'll make some serious racket. Not to mention for what I paid for it I could bounce it down a set of concrete steps and it wouldn't break my heart.
bsadowsky3031 Thank you for your reply! I heard that the SGs have something called a neck dive, is that a big issue or is it bearable?
Overdrive me daddy

Guitars:
Epiphone G400 Custom
Yamaha F335
Amp:
Marshall DSL401
Quote by lenivy
bsadowsky3031 Thank you for your reply! I heard that the SGs have something called a neck dive, is that a big issue or is it bearable?