I'm basically clueless when it comes to guitar pedals. The only pedal i only use is a MXR Micro amp pedal. I mainly put it in the effects loop to turn it into a boost switch so my solo stands out from the rest of the band. The only problem with this is that my guitar solos always sound dry; even with reverb. Are there any pedals that can make it sound juicy and thick? Any help would be appreciated. If it helps, i play classic heavy metal.
Last edited by tycoonman123 at Sep 7, 2016,
There's all kinds of techniques and tricks. Some are genre dependent. Some are gear dependent.

So...

What gear do you have?

What kind of music do you want to play? Who are some of your favorite guitarists? IOW, who do YOU think sounds good?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
I use a volume boost in the loop as well. I suggest adding an overdrive in front of the amp. Which one is up to you. Personally use a tube screamer, which regardless of which version and how tweakable, all share a common thing of boosting mids and gain/sustain. Pretty universal in most rock/metal genres (for classic metal it's between screamers and the mxr distortion+).
Charvel So-Cal (SH6TB/N, killswitch), Jackson RR5FR (TB6/Jazz, Drop C). Joyo pxl pro.
Loop1=Crybaby from hell, Boss PS-5, Seymour Duncan 805 or Green Rhino, EQD Hoof or Earthbound Audio Super Collider. Loop 1 into ISP Decimator II.
Loop 2 (FX loop)-Line6 M9, TC Spark Mini. Loop 2 into mxr 10band. All into a Peavey Triple XXX 212, Ibanez IL15.
Last edited by Maidenheadsteve at Sep 7, 2016,
Take that thing out of the loop! That may be your issue. Run it in front of the amp and see if that helps. Also look into adding a delay pedal - the delay can give you some ambiance and take away the dry-ness ( this should go in the loop if your amp distortion is high gain).