For whatever reason i'm most comfortable and play my best on a gibson sg. The fretboard just feels the right distance away from me, i played bass for 10 years before moving onto the guitar maybe that is why.
I've tried other guitars and own a few but they don't seem the same to play. I'm wondering if anyone knows of a few other models out there that are similar to the sg's design (the neck position not the body).
I guess the obvious answer would be to get another SG but i'm exploring different tonal possibility's.
Last edited by chrisazgo1 at Sep 10, 2016,
I'm puzzled. Do you mean it is the thinness of the body that makes the "fretboard...feel(s) the right distance away" from you?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
I don't know, i thought the fret board was actually further away. Like a couple of inches to the left. I think its because the fret board starts on the very edge of the body, compared to a say - a les paul design, where the fretboard starts a lot closer to the cutaway.

Also i already have a p90 equiped one so i guess its 'get a humbucker one' i still wanted to find a different design though.
Last edited by chrisazgo1 at Sep 10, 2016,
It sounds like you're talking about upper fret access- how easy it is to use all the strings as far up the fretboard as possible. Am I right?

If so, there ate many options.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by chrisazgo1
I don't know, i thought the fret board was actually further away. Like a couple of inches to the left. I think its because the fret board starts on the very edge of the body, compared to a say - a les paul design, where the fretboard starts a lot closer to the cutaway.