Greetings one and all,

Apologies for the 'newbie' style post. Just for the record, I have been playing guitar for almost 20 years all told although since I left university in 2006 I have been much more of the bedroom variety player. I say this just to point out that I am not a complete novice and I am well aware of the usual caveats re 'there is no one single answer, you like what you like' etc.

However, when it comes to mods and DIY of any sort really I am a complete beginner. Hence coming here for some inspiration and to try and gauge whether what I am currently considering really is a feasible and worthwhile project.

As mentioned above I have been out of the loop as far as playing live goes for some time (apart from the odd acoustic open mic) but I am currently looking to get a band together in order to give it another go. Classic rock covers in pubs, the usual kind of thing I'm sure.

Now, over the years whether owned or borrowed from other band members, ex girlfriends and their guitar playing relatives etc I have been lucky enough to play various guitars including an original 1970s USA Les Paul, a gorgeous but infuriating Fender Jaguar (USA made I think, but I could never find out for sure), various Mexican Fender Teles/ Tele types and the usual gamut of Epiphone LPs (and a nice Epiphone 335) and Squier Strats back in my early days. By far my favourite guitar however was a '72 reissue Fender Telecaster Thinline (Mexican I believe) which I bought a few years ago. The 70's Les Paul was probably a close second, but of course it would be really. I actually loved playing the Jag too although as I once remarked I loved it in the way you would love a three legged kitten...