So...recently I made an investment and got myself a JCM2000 (and a Carvin 4x12 cab respectively) and i'm very pleased with the sound of it...But i've been doing guitar for about 3 years and this is my first tube amp, i've always known about boost pedals and i got myself a tube screamer (TS9) and had it on my pedal board for a lead boost on my old amp, and i've always heard about using a low gain amp and a good loud boost but I'm just wondering, do people normally boost the front of an amp with a TS9 to get their normal rhythm tones? or do you set the gain on the amp and then only use the TS9 for a lead boost?

I know it's a super noob question but I've just never gotten a straight answer
There isn't a right or wrong way to use an OD. Just use the pedal in any way that works for you. That's all that matters.

TS9's and all the other millions of OD's just like it are used all kinds of ways. It's commonplace for metal players and to use use them for tone shaping rather than adding more gain. TS9's naturally cut bass and add mids which lends itself well to modern metal tones. That's most likely the instance where you've heard on the internet about people leaving them permanently on all the time.
Roses are red
Violets are blue
Omae wa mou
Shindeiru

Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
T00DEEPBLUE Thank you!! The tone i'm going for is mainly bass and mid heavy, and definitely less trebs. I play in Eb standard with an Ibanez s521 with 12's, do you think going straight into the JCM or a JCM+boost would be a better fit? I'm trying to avoid EQ'ing the amp, since it will affect the clean channel (i never boost the clean channel so the EQ matters a little more since the amp does it all for that channel)
Quote by karniboy98