Hi guys, Ive been playing guitar for around 3 years. But mostly just messing around playing pop songs. All the famous ones. Riptide, taylor swift stuff, john rzeznik im still here. Not alot at all. I can play the most common chords and their barr equivalent.

But im more into green day music, all american rejects and that kind of stuff. And i want to learn electric guitar.

At the local music store they had the SX guitars which apperently is just Fender Squires relabled. And they had a combo (see below). What are you opinions on this? Can I go ahead? Should I just learn acoustic better? Thanks.

The pictures doesnt want to load so

Guitar http://www.sx-guitar.com/index.php/Products/detail/pid/26/id/124
Amp https://www.amazon.com/SX-GA1065-STCAD-Guitar-Amplifier/dp/B000E659QA
Last edited by Draiko at Sep 15, 2016,
Rebranded Squier?
"A well-wound coil is a well-wound coil regardless if it's wound with professional equipment, or if somebody's great-grandmother winds it to an old French recipe with Napoleon's modified coffee grinder and chops off the wire after a mile with an antique guillotine!"
- Bill Lawrence

Come and be with me
Live my twisted dream
Pro devoted pledge
Time for primal concrete sledge

I don't think SX is re-branded squire, the only place I have ever seen them for sale is from Rondo Music. If you are going for more rock/punk stuff you probably want to get a guitar with a humbucker in the bridge as opposed to single coil. I have no experience with this amp but I think its a pretty safe bet to say its pretty crap, if you are looking to be really cheap try finding a used peavey rage amp.

If you give us a budget, general location (i.e city or closest major city) we can give you more recommendations.
i have no idea if they're rebranded squiers. sounds a bit fishy to me- like the shop figures saying that will increase the likelihood of a sale.