I've recently started a band, we are a drummer, and a bassist, and me on electric guitar. I am new to using electric guitar and effects pedals, previously I've mainly used acoustic by myself.

Thoughout our songs I sometimes turn on or off Big Muff distortion, which dramatically increases or decreases the volume. Furthermore, I often change my style mid song - e.g from strumming chords, to doing solo work, to palm muting picking, and back again. This also can massively alter the volume.

The volume of my guitar is therefore dramatically changing constantly, sometimes way below or above the other instruments. How should I be dealing with this?

My initial possible answers ...

1) Buy a compressor. But will this always work for each desired section of the song?

2) Fiddle with the guitar volume throughout the song. But won't this be fiddly and hard to work out for each section and each song?

3) Buy more pedals to help with volume, and painstakingly work out for each section what volumes settings on all of my equipment are needed for each bit of the song in relation to the other instruments. Is this a normal thing to do?

4) Something else???

Thanks!
Last edited by yaakovdov at Sep 16, 2016,
A compressor is my first suggestion. For this use, place it at the end of your effects loop chain if you have one or just at the end of your pedal chain. It will help some but I doubt you will end up with exactly perfect volume levels. The next suggestion is to make sure you are setting things up right. You should be able to get reasonably close with your effects to match the volume of the rest of the band. A compressor and guitar volume settings should get you the rest of the way.
Welcome to playing guitar.

1. Good Idea. No. Welcome to playing guitar.

2. Good Idea. Yes. Welcome to playing guitar.

3. Good Idea. Yes. Welcome to playing guitar.

4. Buy a volume pedal and learn to use it.

There is no magic volume genie, sorry.