So I've been playing for about four years now and currently still have my first guitar, an Epiphone Les paul Standard Pro. I was thinking it was time to upgrade to a Gibson Les Paul. I like the trad pro 3 or 4s, or I saw there is a new Les paul classic that looks awesome. I'm just wondering if this is a waste of money at this point. I don't gig, although I would like to and just don't know how to get one, and I'm only taking the time to learn solos now. Up until now I've just been learning the intro riffs to songs or the rhythm parts. Perhaps also there is another guitar someone can recommend? Thanks.
Best thing you can do is try as many as you can and decide if its worth it to you.

It doesnt matter if you dont gig either. If you like it and want it and can afford it, thats all that matters. Still I always recommend trying them because at least you know what youre getting into beforr you make the leap.

Unless of course you arent able to. If you want a good guitar in the Epiphone range you could always check out the Tribute series. They have nice hardware and decent specs more in line with a Gibson.
Quote by zgr0826
My culture is worthless and absolutely inferior to the almighty Leaf.

Quote by JustRooster
I incurred the wrath of the Association of White Knights. Specifically the Parent's Basement branch of service.
My experience with Gibsons says try them, and if you find one that feels right, go for it. If not, keep your money(or maybe look into a PRS S2 or something).

FWIW, with each of my Gibson LPs, I tried at least 3 of the same model before actually buying one, and only one of them is the first one I tried.
Quote by Diemon Dave
Don't go ninjerin nobody don't need ninjerin'
My opinion is that if you want it and can afford it then go for it.

Gibson doesn't necessarily mean better than Epiphany or other brands at most price ranges. As the others said make sure you get a good one.