I have been playing guitar for 4 and a half years, and actually only until about a year ago i started playing lead parts. Now i can play most Metallica solos, I can play Afterlife (mentioned as it's one of the toughest songs) and songs like Tornado of Souls. Basically i want to take part in college fests and i don't want to be sitting and playing as i usually do, rather standing up so it looks better and more attractive and i can command the stage more.
When i play standing, the chords are no issue to me, it's the lead parts. I can't even play the intro of Master of Puppets. I can't play any solo. My left hand doesn't coordinate and my right hand can't pick fast enough or on the right strings. My hands cramp up, even when im playing with the neck around my stomach.

Any tips? I really want to play the same solos i play sitting down, but while standing up. Standing up takes my ability back 3 years.
Last edited by dhruvjauhar00 at Sep 17, 2016,
Don't wear the guitar super low. Set the strap at stomach/lower chest length.

Also, just practice. When practicing sitting down try not to look at the fretboard. While practicing standing up, make sure you stay relaxed and take it slowly. That is a start at least.
Quote by Jet Penguin
Theory: Not rules, just tools.

Quote by Hail
*note that by fan i mean that guy who wants his friends to know he knows this totally obscure hip band that only he knows about with 236 views on youtube. lookin' at Kev here
same problem here, then i found out that the more flexible your fretting hand the more it helps to play lead standing, all i do for exercise now is doing 'trill' for 1 minute for these fingers:

index finger & middle finger : low e string 1st to 3rd fret
middle finger & ring finger : low e string 7th to 9th fret
ring finger & pinky finger : low e string 7th to 9th fret
index finger & pinky finger : g string 5th to 11th fret

good luck and don't forget to warm up first
Last edited by imunk123 at Sep 20, 2016,