I have recently started teaching myself to play the guitar, and would like to start a band in the future. I have always wanted to be in a band, and think it would be a great opportunity to meet some people with similar interests to me.

That being said, what level of playing should one be at to play in a band. I know that you could start playing at any level, and I want to start playing with other people as soon as possible, but what are some basic things that you should know (eg. chords, techniques, amount of songs, etc.). I play the piano, so I know a lot of music theory already. It's mostly the playing that needs work.

Thanks
You need to be able to play in time, and play a chord sequence (ideally a whole song) without having to look at a chord sheet. Of course, you need to be at a similar level to the other people in the band, so you can follow what they're doing, or they can follow what you're doing. But you can have a band of absolute beginners, and it will sound OK provided they all play in time with each other, and play the same chord at the same time.

IOW, it's never too soon to get out and play with other people - you just have to find people who are roughly at your level, and share some of your tastes. And it also helps that you like them, get on with them socially. Some would say that's more important than shared musical skills. (I was asked to join my first band before I could play any instrument at all - because they were all my schoolfriends, and they knew I could learn what I needed once I was in the band. And I did.)