I am looking at Gibson SG's to start playing with in my band. Are they a good purchase and which should i get? anywhere up to 2500 dollars
Yes, buy one that feels good in your hands. Tommy Iommi concurs.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis
The one knock I hear on SGs is that they can be a little neck heavy, but a good guitar strap can mitigate that somewhat. (Some also counterbalance them with weights.)

Other than that, they're a classic design for a reason. Besides Iommi, Derek Trucks is another high-profile SG player, as is Angus Young.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

alhaq369
It is very impotent to success a business.
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at Sep 30, 2016,
An SG Standard is the way to go in my opinion. Super solid guitars (if you don't drop them, that is), sound great and they are as classic as they come. With that budget, you might want to check out the Custom Shop versions as well, but in my opinion, certainly with an SG, you already get the whole deal on a Standard.
Mayones Regius
Gibson SG
Fender CS Telecaster
Kemper Profiler
as far s the neck heavy, that is a case by case basis. i own two gibson SG's at the moment, and neither have headstock dive. but some do.

i would recommend trying it out with a strap to see if yours is.

i love my SG's.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"

Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.

Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.

***9V BATTERIES ARE FROM HELL!*** (updated 2016-11-27)
Resentments and Rambling from a Guitar Junkie