I've just bought Presonus Audiobox USB interface, and coupled it with Reaper and some popular plugins (TSE, LePou). It took me a while to figure out what to do to get it working - right now I have guitar connected to input 2 of my interface, Record Monitoring on, IN 2 selected, Record armed.
But the sound getting out of it is horrible. I mean, the buzz is so enormous that you could have impression that some hardware is damaged.
When I turn off VSTs and play with guitar alone, everything's fine. But both VSTs I tried are ruined, and I'm sure I screwed up somewhere.
Do you know how can I fix that? I'm total noob with both hardware & software involved, so please don't throw chairs at me
Does the Presonus have record monitoring knob on the front face?
You need to turn it all the way to the left (disabled). Then you should hear what is going through your chain only.
Maybe look at latency, turn to higher setting, maybe for starters 10-12ms. You can decrease later.
Didn't you get Studio One with the interface? Might want to try that, it has built in amp Sims that are quite nice, called Ampire.
Also - say you record clean for now, then engage your amp Sims, what do you get then?
No, there is no record monitoring knob on Audiobox. But there is something called Mixer Control, according to producer's guide: "this knob crossfades between the analog input signal of preamps and the playback signal from your computer". When I turn it all the way down to 0, I can hear nothing; when I turn it to 11 o'clock, buzz is insufferable.
Latency issue - is it fixed in Preferences -> Audio -> Recording tab?
Yes, I have Studio One installed, but I' like to learn Reaper. It seems this is a powerful tool and it'd be great to use it along the way.
How can I engage my sims on (clean) track recorded before? Just click FX -> VST of my choice -> voila? It sounds the same as if I had direct monitoring on, it's bad.
It is labelled "Mixer" on this one, sorry: