I'm just starting to learn the building side of playing guitars and I had a question about scale length that I can't seem to find the answer for anywhere

I keep reading that a strat has a scale length of 25.5, gibson is 24.75 etc. the problem is, when I measure my gibson from edge of nut to middle of 12th fret, it's a hair less than 12.25 for an off number of slightly less than 24.5. My jackson seems to be 25.5 on the nose, but I have a few other cheaper guitars that also give odd measurements that don't seem to line up with anything I'm reading online.

so I guess my questions would be, am i an idiot or is something just weird about my les paul?

also, if one did have this odd scale length on their neck and were building a guitar, would they just assume the bridge at double the length to the 12th fret and plop it down at that length even if the measurement came out to something not very typical to measurements found online?
Welcome to the forum.

The saddle position is a bit longer than the scale length, and Stewmac have a calculator that allows you to determine fret and bridge positions for any scale length and some different kinds of bridges.

https://www.stewmac.com/FretCalculator.html

Hopefully any maker or builder would use the correct position for whatever scale length they are using, though there was one time in the '70s when Martin had the bridge in the wrong place on some of their guitars because their measuring stick had shrunk!