So I've been playing acoustic guitar for a couple of years now, and I really want to start doing electric, but I'm not really sure what type I want.

I don't want to spend more than a couple hundred dollars on one because I still have to buy an amp.
I like playing a lot of rock, stuff like Slash, John Frusciante, etc.
I'm pretty interested in les pauls, but do you guys have any other suggestions before I go to a music store and try some out?
Thanks guys
Try everything in your price range. Find something that feels good, not just looks good.

Play all of the guitars they have for example If they have 5 Epiphone Les Pauls, don't play one and then buy a different color without playing it. Play them all.
For a new electric guitar player, finding a guitar you are interested in is the most important thing, so I say get a LP. Look at the upper-tier Epiphone range, stay away from the Std. range. Used Epiphones are easily found and cheaply bought.
We're just a battery for hire with the guitar fire
Ready and aimed at you
Pick up your balls and load up your cannon
For a twenty one gun salute
For those about to rock, FIRE!
We salute you
Also, play anything you see that LOOKS like a Les Paul in your price range. Lots of makers have their own spin on the design- some feel different, some sound different, some only look different. Some are better than the originals; some worse.

Some of them are virtually indistinguishable from the originals, except in price and availability. Slash's iconic 1959 Gibson Les Paul Standard from the Appetite For Destructin sessions was a replica built by luthier Kris Derrig.

For some, only the original will do. For others, a slight tweak from the template makes all the difference.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

alhaq369
It is very impotent to success a business.