Hi. So I often think only to myself but this time (and it might be a grave mistake) I decided to share some of my thoughts to the UG community. It might be worthy to note that I am not trying to criticise, offend or antagonize people with this thread. I'm just trying to share my opinion and hear others. I'm new to this thread-making business, so if you feel this post doesn't belong here, I apologise!

First of all, this isn't *just* about Chinese Democracy in particular, but rather it serves as an example to other issues that have been going through my mind.
So, getting right down to business, when Guns N' Roses album Chinese Democracy came out circa 2008 it gave birth to a huge mix of praise and criticism. There have been times where criticism seemed to overpower the praise, and, in those times, I always felt sort of inadequate because I actually enjoyed the album. Other times the praise was higher than its counterpart.
After several years of occasionally listening to it again, I've realised I actually really like it. It always seemed to me like a "I feel guilty I actually like this" kind of album, but that feeling has been gradually disappearing over time - like St. Anger, for some people, but I really don't want to get into THAT discussion.
I am not an expert in music making, far from it, but, regarding Chinese Democracy, it seems to me that the songs have great dynamic, the lyrics, even though a lot fall on the "I left her/she left me" category are actually pretty well thought out, and the mixing is good (no matter how ignorant you are in mixing music, when you throw a couple of million dollars into producing an album, the sound has very little chance of not sounding decent). Also, maybe I'm a little biased because I love the work of Buckethead, but I think musically it's a well written album.