It seems that everyone faces this same problem at one point in their evolution, so here's my version :

I have been playing for two years now and had a few gigs, still play with a band ... And I have been saving money for a guitar related upgrade.

I play a Korean Epiphone Les Paul through a 75W Line6 Amplifi (I know ...). So far not a lot of things to complain about, the guitar plays great (would maybe need a pickups upgrade, meh) and the emulation possibilities are also pretty good sounding (for practice at least, can emulate some really cool sounds and it gets better with a good distortion pedal). But I noticed that the amp lacks power when faced with a drummer ( and I'm not talking about an angry one...) or in a small gig situation, that and it's a b*tch to mic and impossible to connect to a cab.
Anyway, with about $1000 for an upgrade I was torn between a better guitar, especially a Telecaster Classic Player Baja for $770 or any of those Fender classic player, I played a friend's Classic Player 60's Strat and god was it good (even through my amp).

Or a better amp ( a Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue seemed a good choice with the money left I could even change my pickups for some Seth Lover or something similar, I could also go for one of those Peavey Tweed, hell I can even get my hands on an used 1995 Fender Twin Amp for §990).

I don't know which one is a better idea considering that in the next couple of years I don't think I will have enough time to gig much anyway with the incoming exams filled years. And the idea of owning a good tele is appealing.

I would like to have some advice on the matter, thank you for reading .
I would say amp first. Maybe get the guitar professionally checked out and setup, but it should be reasonable enough for you for now. I have very little experience with the Amplifi units but from what I understand they are "meh".