Hey guys. So I found a good deal on a Marshall dsl15 and I was wondering if it'd be loud enough to gig with. (Although I'll likely get it anyway as I think they sound great, I have other amps that are loud enough) and I realized that although I've been gigging for several years, the 4 amps I've owned have been very different. I used a 50 watt solid state head and ran the master at around 7 through a 1x12. I've used a peavey 6505, the 60 watt combo, and I don't think I ever turned it past about 4 or possibly 5. Yet I ran my 100 watt valveking at around 9. And the vs100 combo I use anymore I only run around 5 or so. Sometimes 6. Yet they all sounded the same volume to me. Is the wattage rating for amplifiers really that terrible?
I'm just kinda curious what yalls thoughts are on the matter. Those much wiser than me haha. I just realized that it seems out of place to me
Knob settings tell you nothing. You can calculate volume with math or you can measure it with a meter. Both ways work pretty well.

Math method: Speaker SPL rating at 1W1M plus amp output in dbw= clean headroom output.
Ex: EVM12 is 100db SPL, HRD is 40w or 16dbw= 116db clean headroom. Plenty loud for nearly any indoor ballroom/roadhouse gig. (When you play the Coliseum, bring a mic.)

Measurement method: Buy a decent SPL meter on Amazon, set it to "A" weighting and place it 1M from the speaker, crank the amp, check your measurement in db SPL.

110-115db clean is plenty unless you are in a deaf-metal band screaming at 120db. Then you will need more amp and good ear protection.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis
Last edited by Cajundaddy at Oct 17, 2016,
Based on previous posts I've read on the DSL15 I don't think it will be loud enough.